News & Insights

Legal News coverage of Kerr Russell members serving in State Bar Leadership roles

September 28, 2017

Thanks to the Legal News for this additional coverage!

[Photo of Fred Herrmann thanking members ending their terms of service - photo credit Jessica S. Fox, Twitter] 

The State Bar NEXT Conference (previously known as the State Bar Annual Meeting) will be held in Detroit September 27–29 and several attorneys from Kerr Russell will be in the spotlight.

Kerr Russell attorney Fred Herrmann will be introducing keynote speaker Dan Abrams, ABC News Chief Legal Affairs anchor, on Thursday, Sept. 28 at 9 a.m. before the TV correspondent’s presentation.

Later that morning, Herrmann will complete his service as chair of the Representative Assembly as he passes the baton to Joe McGill of Foley Baron Metzger Juip. This also will mark the end of Herrmann’s term in the Representative Assembly as he will be term-limited after 10 years of service. He also will leave the Board of Commissioners, following three years of service. [NOTE: Dan Ferris, member, is part of the Representative Assembly and was in attendance. Resolution presented to Fred appears below.]

That afternoon, Kerr Russell Member Joanne Geha Swanson, the chair-elect of the Appellate Practice Section, will assume leadership as chair at the Section’s Annual Meeting. She will moderate the Annual Meeting program that is being sponsored by the Appellate Practice Section. The session will run from 1-4 p.m.

The panel discussion is titled “Rethinking Appellate Briefing in the Digital Age” and will introduce, address, and debate the recommendations of the Section's Readability Subcommittee, including best practices standards and proposed rule changes for the preparation of appellate briefs in this era of e-filing. Panelists include Scott G. Bassett, Scott Bassett Esq., Portage; Joseph E. Richotte, Butzel Long PC, Bloomfield Hills; Stuart G. Friedman, Southfield; Lauren D. Donofrio, Michigan Department of Attorney General, Lansing; Hon. Elizabeth L. Gleicher, Michigan Court of Appeals, Detroit; John Hiemstra, Michigan Court of Appeals, Detroit; and Daniel C. Brubaker, Michigan Supreme Court. The Section’s business meeting begins at 1 p.m.  The program runs from 2-4 p.m.  There is no charge to attend.

On October 6, the Business Law Section will hold its annual meeting (separate from the SBM Annual Meeting). Kerr Russell attorney Kevin Block will be assuming the role of Vice Chair of the Business Law Section at that time, after completing his service as treasurer.

At the Health Care Law Section’s annual meeting on September 12, Kerr Russell attorney Patrick Haddad was recognized for completing six years of service as a council member and for service as council secretary, chair of the Legislative Committee, and as a member of the Substantive Law Committee’s Medical-Legal Subcommittee.

Below is the "Resolution Commemorating the Retirement of Fred Herrmann as Commissioner of the State Bar of Michigan."

Main Office - Detroit T 313.961.0200
Troy T 248.740.9820
China T +86 21 20501851