Insurance Coverage Disputes

Legal Services

Insurance Coverage Disputes

Kerr Russell possesses decades of experience and a prominent reputation in the representation of regional and national insurance companies as well as captive and other alternative risk insurance companies, and their insureds and agents, in all types of insurance coverage disputes.

Our insurance coverage disputes team has handled virtually all types of insurance litigation matters, including commercial liability and surplus line policies, general, premises, product and pollution liability, professional liability and malpractice, negligence, errors and omissions, property and casualty, automobile policies, homeowner and renter policies, employer liability, employment practices liability, directors and officers liability, and health, accident and disability policies and claims.

We additionally render coverage advice, and provide expertise concerning the duty to defend and the duty to indemnify in a multitude of contexts.  Likewise, we counsel on claims and claims handling issues on a regular basis.

+Practicing Attorneys & Staff


Patrick J. Haddad


Eric I. Lark


F. Broc Gullett


Kathleen A. Westfall


+Related Insights

June 5, 2019

What You Need to Know About the Auto No-Fault Law

The recent changes to the Michigan No-Fault Act have been publicized as changes affecting medical coverage and insurance premium rates but the actual enacted changes in the law go well beyond what has been in the media. There are many unanswered questions that arise from the 120-page bill signed by Governor Whitmer on May 30, 2019. The changes impact: Driver premiums; Medical provider fees; The viability and availability of healthcare providers for injured victims; Litigation in the context of claims for the insured (PIP coverage); and Penalties for false claims.
+Related News

September 3, 2019

15 Kerr Russell Attorneys Recognized on the 2019 Michigan Super Lawyers List

A total of 15 lawyers from Kerr Russell are named as Thomson Reuters, 2019 Michigan Super Lawyers. The award is given annually to attorneys who have attained a high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement.