January 12, 2018

What is Temporary Protected Status?

During the period of time set by the Department of Homeland Security, foreign nationals of designated countries cannot be removed from the U.S., and can obtain work and travel authorization. TPS is a temporary benefit, given until country conditions have improved, and does not lead to permanent U.S. immigration status.

Countries currently designated include: El Salvador (to end September 9, 2019); Haiti (to end July 22, 2019); Honduras; Nepal; Nicaragua; Somalia; South Sudan; Sudan; Syria; and, Yemen. It is estimated that more than 300,000 individuals in the United States currently have TPS.



Practice Areas

Immigration Law